American Horror Story: Election Night 2016

Election Night In America is well underway and I find myself writing the third post in what’s turned out to be an informal trilogy of electoral blather. Feel free to look in on parts one and two if it strikes your fancy.

I live in the largely excellent State of Oregon, where we have voting by mail. I dropped off my filled-in ballot at a voting box the same day it came in the post.

My election season is over. #Oregon #VoteByMail #SoLongSuckers

A post shared by Chris Carter (@wanderinchild) on

I voted Green wherever possible, including for the Presidency, and where it wasn’t possible to vote Green I voted for whoever seemed the most legitimately left. If this troubles you, don’t worry. I live in a State that’s not a battleground. Also, Joy Ann Reid says my vote didn’t count (to which I took exception).

selection_002

This is strange since according to a tweet from Ms. Reid that’s pinned at the present moment, she thinks voting is very important.

selection_001

I mean, I’d like my vote to do the same things her vote would do, but since my vote doesn’t count…

I’ve typed earlier about what I think of voting. I think it’s an often-hyperbolically overrated activity that doesn’t work the way most people are conditioned to think it works. (See part two for details.) This doesn’t mean I think voting is unimportant. The problem is that at the same time we are propagandized to about how important voting is, we are forced to participate in an electoral system so thoroughly buggered by a host of ills that our participation is ultimately bent to the wills of a class who, if they could get away with it, would disenfranchise us entirely.

And though, looking at the duopoly, one choice is qualitatively worse than the other, either party’s candidate for President will bring considerable woe to much of both the US and the rest of the planet.

I do not look forward to the next four years.

Leave a Reply

